‘Shoop Shoop’-ing Around

As it’s ski season (a.k.a. ‘shoop shoop’ season), I could feel my little hands itching to create a new accessory to show off on the slopes. And as I previously mentioned I came across a nice simple cowl pattern by Jo Kelly Designs in K1 Yarns on Wednesday. I had until Sunday to complete my knit and despite the pessimism on the part of my boyfriend, I managed it!

The pattern is very simple, and I managed to learn a new technique ‘tucking.’ It’s very simple and effective, especially for a skiing cowl. It keeps warm little pockets of air around your neck and keeps you toasty without the bulk of a scarf. I kept it in a simple muted color so I could team it with more. I’m such a fan of it that I’m even wearing it now sitting at my desk. It was great for snowboarding on Sunday. If your planning a trip to Glenshee, I’d get there soon, it’s melting fast. I managed to take  a quick photo on the way home though, I was having far too much fun to take photos earlier.

Now that it’s Monday, my mission is to get beading and making jewelry in preparation for the Scottish Bead Fair on Sunday.

2 Responses to “‘Shoop Shoop’-ing Around”


  1. 1 Angelika December 24, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Hi, this cowl is beautiful, I’ve tried to follow your link to Jo Kelly to find he original pattern, but it’s not up anymore. Can you send me the pattern if you remember it?
    i.e. was it knit in a round?
    Is it just knit one side, purl on the other?
    When doing the tuck stitch, for how many stitches do you tuck (all the way round or just in irregular places?)
    Many thanks (I’m going skiing too, so this cowl would be ideal!)
    Angelika

    • 2 Emma December 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

      Thanks, sorry the link isn’t working any more. But you can find the pattern for sale here. The cowl is knit in the round and as for the frequency of tucking, I can’t remember. It was all knit though and I remember I made it in an evening almost. I hope you get your hands on it ok, it’s a great simple pattern.

      Thanks for stopping by and Merry Christmas,
      Emma


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


