Granny J’s Irish Trifle

I’m embracing my Irish-ness today, and rather than doing all the cringe worthy things other people (mostly non-Irish) do today (mostly drinking :D), I’m making something that reminds me of home. My granny was a huge part of my life growing up, and I spent huge parts of my day with her. She was an amazing knitter, sewer, and cook, and was tough as nails. I really hope I take after her somewhat.

But there are several things (mostly food) that remind me of her and been a little girl. She cooked entirely ‘irish’ or homely food. Being born just after the first world war she toughed it out through some of the most trying and changing times in Ireland. What I would give for a slice of her soda bread or one of her hot potato scones! But after dinner when we were small we would have either one of three things – rice pudding, custard or trifle.

My Granny past away almost two years ago now, and this is only the second time I’ve tried to recapture her though cooking. Here’s a similar recipe to what she used to do:

  1. Bake 1/2 Victoria Sponge Recipe (I used Nigella Lawson’s in Domestic Goddess, this Good Food Recipe also works). Cut into pieces and arrange in the bottom of your trifle bowl.
  2. (Optional) Arrange chopped strawberries, or raspberries, between pieces of sponge.
  3. Make 1 and a 1/2 pints of instant Jelly (strawberry or raspberry) and pour half over your sponge.
  4. Make 1 and a 1/2 pints of custard (I used birds, Granny would approve). Pour half on top of the sponge and jelly.
  5. Layer more sponge and jelly, followed by custard and allow to cool
  6. (Optional) Spread 300ml of whipped Double Cream on top of your trifle and decorate with some more strawberries or raspberries.

I’m also wearing my shamrock badge that a friend knitted for me today. Enjoy La Feile Padraig!!!

1 Response to “Granny J’s Irish Trifle”


  1. 1 Christina July 16, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Thanks! My father in law challenged me to make an Irish trifle… I know it uses jello. This will be fun!


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


