Radio Silence No Longer

Apologies for the lack of posts of late. As I previously mentioned I had a big deadline and that had to take all my time. But finally, I’m FREE! Free for the next few days to do some lovely crafty things. Oh Joy! I promise to keep you posted on all of it.

First things first. I did manage to do a few things this weekend. I (foolishly) offered to make dessert for a dinner party on Saturday. Due to my lack of time, I fell back on an old favorite that is no trouble at all to make. ‘Elaine’s Brownies’ from the Avoca Cookbook. It’s the best irish cookbook I’ve ever come across and reminds me of all the delicious food they serve in their shops and cafes. It’s a very simple recipe (basically throw everything in a bowl and whisk like hell), and the outcome are the best brownies I’ve ever come across. I served them heated with greek yogurt ice cream and almonds. Now they are everyone else’s favorite brownies too!

Then on Sunday I felt it was time to have a last hooray pie. Its getting to the end of pie season and I’m sorry to see it go. I felt I haven’t made the most of it. So steak pie for dinner it was. If you haven’t had a steak pie, you haven’t lived! Its such a Great British staple meal.

  1. Coat 1lb. of diced beef (any cut will do. If it is of lesser quality just make sure to keep in the oven for longer) in some flour and season with salt and pepper
  2. Fry on a high heat in a pan with some oil to seal it
  3. Roughly dice two onions and three medium carrots and place in a pie dish. Put you sealed beef in on top
  4. Pour a can of ale (I used Belhaven Best) on top of your beef and veggies, cover and place in the oven at 160 degrees C for two hours
  5. Remove from the oven. Scatter diced mushrooms onto your pie mix. top of liquid with beef stock if necessary. Add a generous tablespoon of cornflour to the liquid in your pie to get your gravy to the required thickness
  6. Roll out a piece of ready-made puff pasty to the required size to fit the top of your pie dish. Brush the pastry with egg or milk.
  7. Place back into the oven at 180 degrees C for 20 minutes or until the puff pasty is golden.

0 Responses to “Radio Silence No Longer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


