Great British Classics

I’ve lived in the UK for almost a decade now (yipes!) and there are still some classic British meals whose appeal alludes me. While there are pies (apple, rhubarb, fish and best of all steak) that I love, and teas that I will never be able to wean myself off and promotional campaigns that I’m thinking of starting regarding the consumption of haggis, there are one or two things that I just don’t get. It’s not that I’m repulsed by these things, it’s just that I’m not bothered one way or the other.

Apple crumble is one of those things. Yes I like apples and I would eat some apple crumble if someone very kindly made me some, however, if I’m going to go to the effort of making something with apples I’m going to make a pie every time.

Recently though, I came home to an untouched fruit bowl, heavily featuring yummy apples which are starting to look a little sad. Perfect timing for an baking intervention. I feel bad sometimes that I only ever cook what I like so for once I set about trying to create crumble with my leftovers for my English boy at home.

I took note of a recipe from April’s Olive magazine and the apple crumble recipe from the Restaurant Canteen. My apples were Pink Ladies rather than cooking apples though. And so as not to send the consumer into a diabetic coma I left out the 175g of golden caster sugar to take the edge off the Bramley apples. Everything else I left the exact same.

After removing it from the oven, I realized removing the extra sugar have a knock on effect of keeping the crumble a little dry but once you pour on some double cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream it was absolutely irresistible! I would definitely make it again, and probably with the Pink Ladies, because by using the sweeter apples you can remove the sugar and lower the calorie count. And as it’s coming up to Summer strip off days, this household needs to be on the lookout for cut backs!

If you don’t have a crumble recipe or April’s Olive, this Good Food Recipe looks delicious too!

0 Responses to “Great British Classics”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


