Knitting for Dull Days

I’ve finished a sweet little hat for myself. I saw the pattern for this cutie a few months ago and thought it might make a nice and easy tv knit. The pattern is ace a) because it’s lovely b) it’s easy  c) its Scottish and best of all d) its free! Check it out for yourself at Kristen MakesGrantham hat.

While I’m knitting a big cardigan for myself, I wanted an easy little knit to get relief from the tediousness of a large scale pattern and this was it. Although we’re not really heading into the right season for it (saying that we have snow forecast for tonight! Where is summer?), I can’t wait for a rainy day to get it out. I dropped down a size when doing the final ribbing which was a both a good and bad choice. I wasn’t obtaining a nice finish so I went to 3.25mm dpns, these gave the finish I wanted but I think I may have cast off the ears a little too tight and they aren’t as accentuated as I’d like, but on the plus side, it makes the hat tighter and much more secure on my head. I have a BIG head, as I’ve been told many times before (all the better to house my superior intellect I reply) and this hat is BIG, but in a lovely soft and slouchy way, however if I hadn’t made the ribbing a little tighter I think I would have been wearing it over my eyes. Maybe I’d only drop down to 3.5mm dpns next time.

2 Responses to “Knitting for Dull Days”


  1. 1 KristenMakes May 11, 2010 at 10:13 am

    So cute! I love the color, and am so glad you liked the pattern! Thanks for linking me!

    • 2 Emma May 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Thanks! And thanks for the pattern. It really cheers me up to see people in and about Scotland excited about knitting. And the tip about the new lanark wool was priceless. I’ve sourced my cheap wool for christmas presents next year. Awesome.


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


