Store Cupboard Cupcakes

Why does work have to take up so much of your time? I have eggs and butter about to go to waste in my fridge but not much free time to do something with them. So I had a root around the cupboards and fridge and surfaced with a jar of caramel left over from my Sticky Toffee Cheesecake, and some raspberry jam. I had enough eggs and butter to create a victoria sponge recipe, so I thought either of my finds would be delicious little surprises to bake into easy-make vanilla cupcakes.

First up were my millionaire cupcakes. Make a basic cupcake batter (I used nigellas victoria sponge recipe). I then filled my cases half way up with batter and added a spoon of caramel and then topped up with cupcake batter. In hindsight this wasn’t a good idea. All the caramel sank to the bottom during baking. So I would advise to fill your cases with batter and then add a spoonful of caramel on the top. It will then hopefully only sink to the middle. Once cooked and cooled I then drizzled melted chocolate over the top to make millionaire cupcakes. They were scrumptious!

I saved one half of the batter to make bakewell cupcakes. I followed the exact same principles of the millionaire cupcakes (except I added a spoon of raspberry jam to the top of the filled cupcake cases), and scattered some flaked almonds on top. These were my favourite! They were the deliciousness of a bakewell tart without the hassle and effort of making the tart part. So easy and quick.

I’ll definately be giving these store cupboard cupcakes a try again. Maybe next time with lemon curd, or nutella, or peanut butter… The possibilities are endless! Give it a try.

0 Responses to “Store Cupboard Cupcakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


