Baby (Blanket) on the Way

I’ve been wanting to knit more baby stuff lately. Mostly because they get all the best stuff knitted for them (booties, toys, dolls, jumpers). The main problems are that; I don’t have kids (no thanks), none of my friends are they right age to be reproducing either. Shucks. But finally, I’ve got the opportunity to baby knit. Yippee (or so I thought). I’m taking part in a co-operative to collectively knit the squares for a Debbie Bliss Baby Blanket (can’t find the example at the moments, I’ll find something for you though) and to help to take the pressure off a friend to knit the whole thing. Great. So off I went with my balls of wool.

And there is where my exasperation started too. The squares have a diagonal pattern going through which is really effective and different, but in changing over yarn colors,everything (EVERYTHING) gets tangled up. And when you have an average of 5 balls of wool on the go at once thats alot to get tangled. In fact I spend more time sorting out than actually knitting. Humph! Any ideas of how to avoid this or am I just completely going wrong? I’m starting to hate this project so much that I’ve had it since about February and thats all I’ve done. I think the baby may be off to uni by the time I get round to completing my section….

1 Response to “Baby (Blanket) on the Way”



  1. 1 Blankets (Squared) « Trackback on August 14, 2010 at 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


