A Quintessentially English Birthday Cake

Every year, right before my birthday I face the same dilemma. What to do about my birthday cake? Technically the birthday girl should not make her own. But Mr. A doesn”t have a Nigella/Delia side to him. Meat, course he can tackle meat. He’s a man. But delicately light and fluffy sponge and some delicious icing, no way. That’s far too feminine. But (after years of training) he is of course willing to surrender to any whim of mine at this time of year. So he will handle the cake. He will even get a cake which he finds repulsive but thinks I would like (last year I got lemon. yum). So thats great. The only problem is that bought cakes in the UK are crap. Really heavy and dense, and unimaginative. So it ends up that no one eats them and they go to waste.

So I have decided that in fact making my own birthday cake is the only way forward. I can do it better, and cheaper and without the majority of it landing in the bin. So that is how I came to make Sophie Dahl’s Orange and Raspberry Victoria Sponge. I’ve been stuck to the TV watching her Delicious Ms. Dahl and loving every minute of it. She is just so English, and its lovely. Her food is my dessert island menu, and her family gain her extra likability points also (like every child, I was a HUGE Roald Dahl fan).

So, for my birthday I chose to test her twist on the classic sponge cake. Here the sponge is favoured with orange zest, the icing is orange based and you make your own homemade zingy raspberry jam for the centre. Delicious indeed and oh so simple! Bring on my birthday, I’m ready.

2 Responses to “A Quintessentially English Birthday Cake”


  1. 1 Livin' in the Kitchen February 21, 2011 at 3:39 am

    Ou! This looks great!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Jess : )


  1. 1 The Big Cake Debate « Trackback on July 11, 2011 at 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


