RIP Pickles Cardigan

Sad news friends. My Pickles Cardi is no more. And I was almost there too!

I have something I need to disclose to you. I am a terrible perfectionist (like alot of people involved in the arts). This leads me to constant disappointment as my projects never seem to be able to live up to the air of awesomeness they have taken on in my imagination.

This occurred with my alomost completed cardi. I was just finished it complete. But I started to mope because I was unhappy with the final ribbing. So rather than get mad and shove it to the back of my wardrobe, I thought I would bite the bullet and rip back and redo that last little bit. Hmm. This is where the trouble starts. I was in such a bad mood about it that I must have only been able to see red. Because I started ripping back the bottom ribbing. The start of the cardi not the end. Whoops. Well by the time a realised the whole thing was in such a mess I decided that there was just no salvation for it. So, when I calm down and get rid of the sick feeling that comes over me when I see it, I’ll start it again. Sigh. The life of a perfectionist knitter.

Life Lesson: If you’re doing something and start to get angry with it, LEAVE IT BE! Go away, have a cup of tea, some chocolate, a walk anything, just as long as you put that project down. More often than not, even more damage gets done. I need to remember this more. Maybe one day I’ll embroider it onto a pillow…

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


