Blankets (Squared)

Remember how I was telling you I was taking part in a group knit of a baby blanket? And cursing having to knit diagonal squares because I spent more time untangling my yarn than knitting? Well, finally I’m finished and free of the whole thing! I’m delighted. As promised I found the book that the pattern is published in, and the knit is named the Kaleidoscope Throw. It is very simple. ALTHOUGH; There is something very important you should note. Do not just blindly repeat the graph shown, half way through you need to start creating mirrored versions of your diagonal squares. Half you squares should go to the right and half to the left. Mine don’t. Woops. I’m extremely impatient (big surprise), and never read things fully. I’m always far too eager to start. I’m taking on most of the blame here but I think the pattern deserves a little too. It is not made very clear that you have to do this. But otherwise what a lovely blanket. It’s bright and vibrant and perfect for a baby as he/she grows. Hopefully it’s something that will be kept long into adulthood. Fingers crossed.

Meanwhile I have been released from blanket duty and I’m finally free to embark on new knitting adventures. Happy days!

2 Responses to “Blankets (Squared)”


  1. 1 suddenexpression August 14, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I love the way it looks! Hope I can do something similar. I love that the stripes are all lined up, once you stitch the pieces together. I also love the colors you used. They work great together.

    • 2 Emma August 14, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks. I didn’t choose the colors so I can’t claim the thanks there though 🙂 I just hope the recipient likes them. It’s a really simple pattern and would be very easy to work up to your own design. I’d love to see another take on it, be sure to let me know how it goes 😀


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


