Your Country’s Nanas Need You!

I know Christmas is coming, when my smooties start wearing little woolen hats to keep them warm. Strangely, over the last few years, this is one of my Christmas highlights. I spend ages looking at all the smartly dressed bottles trying to decide on my favourite when in reality I want to take them all home!

If you don’t know what I’m talking about (and are starting to think I’ve lost my marbles), I’m yabbering on about the Innocent Smootie Big Knit. Every year they call on people to knit little hats (egg cozies really) and donate them to innocent. Innocent then bedeck their bottles with them and sell them during the months leading up to Christmas. It’s not all a gimick. For every bottle they sell with a little hat, they donate 35p to Age Concern and Help the Aged. And given the atrocious winter we had last year, and the huge increase in heating costs, I really believe this is a good cause and worthy of some of my time to whip some up.

I thoroughly encourage you to download a hatometer to plan your knitting goals and a sample sheet of patterns. And if you’re not a knitter, there are even crochet directions. I’m getting started already because I know the knitted and crafted gifts for family will be stressing me out in the final run up to Christmas, and I just won’t get time otherwise. It happens to all of us.

The pattern is very simple, and you can easily whip up a plain cosy in a few minutes using left over yarn that probably would go to waste otherwise. So this is my pledge to knit 50 cozies for this country’s nanas. This isn’t a completely selfless exercise. I fell good about it, have fun experimenting with patterns, and you just know I’m going to spend all over Demember scouring the shops trying to spot my knits!

Here are the first half dozen of my knits. Plain and simple to get me started 😀 For some inspiration and a giggle, check out the imaginative cozies being knitted by others.

0 Responses to “Your Country’s Nanas Need You!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


