Boyfriend Hat

Time for a free pattern. Mr. A. was nagging for a new autumn winter hat; somthing similar too but not as heavy as Something for the Weekend. I used some amazing bargain wool I bought on email and knit a scarf out of last Christmas for him. It’s a double knit yarn with an angora blend from what I can tell. I attempted to come up with a new exciting pattern but I was swiftly reminded (by Mr. A) that I was knitting it from a man. Therefore any kind of delicate pattern got thrown out in favour of something simple and basic. He was delighted

So here is Knit1 Slip1’s Boyfriend Hat, a free pattern for you to enjoy. It’s a lovely soft and slouchy hat but not too warm but perfect for keeping out the rain and cold of the coming season. I love it so much that I desperately want to knit myself one. But Mr. A. has an irrational belief that even if I knit this pattern with new wool in different colors or a new pattern with the same wool it will be exactly like his. Therefore we would be one of those sad couples who match. Men.

10 Responses to “Boyfriend Hat”


  1. 1 Rachel August 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    This is great! I jsut downloaded the pattern and I’ll be spreading the word via link and twitter. I love his concern about the matching. Now you have to make one! =)

  2. 2 Katie October 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Hi, I really like this hat so I had a go making it this week. I’m a beginner so it seemed nice and simple. While it did help me learn to knit in the round mine doesn’t seem to look like yours. Mines much tighter and although it does stretch so you can wear it the back gathers up so its pointy on the back of your head rather than relaxed and slouchy. Don’t suppose you can work out what I’ve done wrong? I was thinking maybe I used the wrong wool but if it wasn’t a bit stretcthy then it wouldn’t have fit. thanks anyway as I enjoyed making it.

    • 3 Emma October 12, 2010 at 8:48 am

      Hmm. This is a tough one. First of all, don’t worry. Even experienced knitters get fed up with some designs that just don’t seem to work for them. I do it all the time. Well done for learning to knit in the round. With regard to the fit, did you do a tension square to see if your yarn and needles matched the size recommended in the pattern? I know its a pain doing these, but if you want a good fit it is probably a good idea. Other than the fact that the tension might be wrong I don’t have any idea. The hat should be very large fitting (it is sized to fit my very large head). Sorry you’re having trouble. If you don’t want to rip back and start again, I will suggest one thing. It can’t be guaranteed but if you’re willing to take a risk: When yarn is wet is looses some of its shape. If you put your hat in warm water and leave for about ten minutes, then come back and try to gently stretch it slightly by hand. Then wring out the water and place flat to dry, again trying to shape it to the size you want. But it is a risk and you may stretch it too much. Let me know how you get on.

  3. 4 Kate November 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Hello, I really want to have a go at knitting this hat but I was wondering what circumference 5mm circular needles I should use?

  4. 6 Deb January 10, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I used 24″ inch, but started with 80 stitches for a large head, and added an inch to the length. I did have to switch to DPNs for the last few rows.

    By the way, the recipient was delighted and has requsted another in a different colour. He caught a friend looking inside for a label! LOL! Thanks, great pattern!

  5. 7 Annie June 19, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    For Kate, I always use a 16″ circular needle (no matter the needle size) for knitting hats. I made a boyfriend hat for a nephew and he wore it year round until it disengrated! I am about to make another-this is THE best pattern for hats I have ever used! Thank you!


  1. 1 Knitting a hat : take 1 — Crafty Dibdob Trackback on October 18, 2010 at 4:50 pm
  2. 2 My Christmas Gift Knitting « Trackback on December 26, 2011 at 8:32 am
  3. 3 Meine erste selbstgestricke Mütze » Selbstgemachtes » Alles über Trackback on March 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


