New Goodies

I let myself go a little this week and ended up with these two beauties. Sophie Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights Cookbook and the new British craft magazine Making. Awesome. I have been so good lately, not buying new clothes, or crafty supplies, or even wool. And I’ve got the biggest weakness for all those things. But alas, my resolve crumbled and ended up with these two.

For starters, Sophie Dahl’s new cookbook. Amazing. I think I have a little girl crush on her and want her to be my best friend so badly. The book, as well as having delicious recipes, is a great read. Between each section are lovely written passages about Sophie, her life and relationship with food. I haven’t been able to put it down. As soon as I get round to stopping reading and actually cooking something I’ll let you know. A much recommended read. I got mine for the bargain price of £5 in Fopp incase anyone is tempted.

From highs to lows, the first issue of Making magazine. I was so excited for this magazine to come out, a friend had given me a preview and I was super excited. Although after paying £4.99 for it (ouch, the same price as my Sophie Dalh), I was left pretty let down. Although it is a nice magazine, I don’t think it has fully established its style yet. Alot of the projects was baby-ish. Yes, crafts are handmade, it doesn’t mean they can’t have a professional look and be stylish. For example, the dress of on the cover. They don’t tell you how to make it. They suggest buying it. The part they explain is how to sew those hideous flowers on it. Shame. Also, they are a little behind on trends. I guess we are all so spoilt by the abundance of craft and design blogs and we get constant updates on what’s new that a monthly magazine has no chance in keeping up. All in all, it was a bit of a let down. There are far more useful and amazing tutorials and crafts to be found online and even better, for free. Although, fingers crossed they find their voice and up the ante. I’ll keep an eye out.

0 Responses to “New Goodies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


