Ahoy Ahoy!

Hello Sailor! It’s time to take to the Seas with this nautical inspired necklace. I’m a sucker for anything ocean themed, but blue stripes, anchors, bows, or knots on it and I want it more than anything on earth. So it’s time that I accessorized my collection even more with this lovely necklace. Best of all, it costs less than £1 if you manage to use mainly reclaimed scraps like me.

All you’ll need to make it is:

  • 4 pieces of cord, 30cm in length, diameter of around half a centimeter. I used the shopping handles of a bag from french connection. Keep you’re eye out, some of the fancier shops give away bags with nice cord handles. Otherwise any cord or rope will do the job.
  • 4 jump rings
  • Gold chain to your desired length
  • Lobster clasp

To Make:

  1. Take one length of cord and tie a loose figure of 8 just like the one shown (above left).
  2. Take your second piece of cord and follow your first piece of cord. Do this with your third and fourth lengths of cord
  3. Tighten up your figure of 8 gently and making sure all pieces of cord stay along side one another
  4. With the ends that face on to the front of your knot, pull them to the back, trim them and glue in place
  5. With the ends that face on to the back of your knot, trim them and glue in place
  6. At the back of your knot, lightly spread a little glue between each cord to avoid them moving when you’re wearing it
  7. Thread 2 jump rings through the back of your knot, attach your chain and add your clasp to the chain and you’re ready to wear

11 Responses to “Ahoy Ahoy!”


  1. 1 Rachel October 22, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    That’s super cute! Thanks so much for the how-to, I’ll be linking.

  2. 2 Jill October 27, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Oh wow! I was just thinking how cool it would be to learn to tie knots. Then I stumbled on your jewelry idea on One Pretty Thing. I make my own jewelry and I love this idea! The design ‘ooks like it would be complicated but your directions make it look so easy. Can’t wait to try it!

    • 3 Emma October 28, 2010 at 7:18 am

      Thanks! I’m really happy with my little necklace and it has definitely given me a taste for more! Keep tuned, I have another knot idea coming soon 🙂

  3. 4 Jane December 7, 2010 at 2:10 am

    Your necklace is an awesome inspiration! Many thanks for sharing. I would like to feature it at http://www.handmade-jewelry-club.com/

    Contact me here if you have a concern.

    Jane
    http://diylessons.org/

    • 5 Emma December 7, 2010 at 8:15 am

      Thank you and I’m glad you enjoyed my knot necklace. You’re welcome to feature my necklace as long as it is offered for free and credit it given by linking back.

      p.s. your site is such a good reference tool for beaders 🙂

  4. 7 Holly Day April 26, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    It’s beautiful! Really… I might give a try tho this, this will allow me to give my mom and sister homemade gifts this year. Thanks for sharing.


  1. 1 6 Ways with… Hair Clips: Knots « Trackback on November 15, 2010 at 7:55 am
  2. 2 DIY week 1 « LIVLIG Trackback on January 8, 2011 at 9:02 am
  3. 3 Craft Time Wednesday- Answering Fans Questions « Frenchfwries 2.0 Trackback on July 6, 2011 at 5:27 am
  4. 4 Sailor Knot Necklace « intothewebb Trackback on October 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


