I’ll be Home for Christmas

Oh my! It has been forever since my last blog update. I’m so sorry! But I assure you I have a really good reason, I promise. It’s Christmas time (whoopee) and the time for the trip home to spend the holidays with family. It is a very simple concept, and something which has never proved difficult before. Generally, traveling home will take about five hours (including all the airport waiting time, connecting trains and so on). This year? Three hellish days! I could have killed someone. And the amount of times I nearly turned around and said ‘stuff it.’ Why? Well because the UK and Ireland has been thrown into chaos by yet MORE snow, about a foot. More snow than I’ve ever seen at home in my life. You see we’re right on the coast, in a warm temperate climate. We never had snow like this ever in my life. I remember all those nights I spent when I was little, praying for a big snow, so school would be canceled and I could spend the day out having fun. I had never sledged, or made a snow man until I moved to Scotland. But anyway, I’m getting off point. Basically mother nature has dump a boat load of the white stuff right on top of us. But thankfully, as my Christmas miracle, after those three days, I made it home. Alot of people are not so lucky, all the airports are effectively closed, and there is just no way home until after Christmas. What a shame.

So that is my reason for no posts. I’m very sorry. I’ll (fingers crossed) never do it again. Right now I’m off to stuff my face with pre-Christmas treats, find some wrapping paper and a Christmas CD. If you managed to get home for Christmas, enjoy it, and if not, well you can still spoil yourself. And if you had a worse journey home, please share. Misery loves company!

0 Responses to “I’ll be Home for Christmas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


