Project 2011

Well we are well into 2011 now, which makes Project 2010 obsolete. Sigh. In March I set myself 10 crafty goals to achieve within the year. I didn’t quite make it to ticking them all off, but I make myself feel better by telling myself I didn’t have a whole year. So this year, I’m giving myself 12 whole months. And I’m so excited to get started!

Before I do, I want to give a quick insight into 2010 and the highlights.

  1. This has to be this blog and you! – This blog and all you readers have pushed me so much to craft more and try my hand at more adventurous things. I’ve knitted, sewn, photographed and everything more than ever before and I love it.
  2. I sold some of my own creations – How shocking, I’m a designer (well sort of). This was one of my ’10 for ’10 and here’s hoping to more success in 2011
  3. I started making a conscious effort to buy handmade. It’s amazing, never before have I had so many compliments on my new buys. So long mass produced stuff, hello hand crafted
  4. I published some of my knitting patterns to the world for free – and people have and are knitting them! I need to pinch myself

So now onto my 11 for ’11

  1. Expand the website – More posts, more pictures, more crafts, more tutorials! – I’ve tried my best. I know I could have done so much more. I read the blogs of so many other wonderful people who are far busier than I and I feel a little embarrassed. I promise to try harder.
  2. Get to 100 Etsy sales – Now that is ambitious. Wish me luck! – I got absolutely no where near this. I’m proud of my Etsy sales but as a result of getting a job (did I spoil the surprise of no. 3 for you?) I haven’t had as much time as I would have like to develop new idea and expand the shop so much more. 
  3. Get a job – a paid one please – Done, That’s probably why I’m just so shattered in the evenings.
  4. Make a beautifully iced cake – I’m a baker, I love to bake. But all my enthusiasm seems to disappear by the time I’ve let the cake cool down. I just want to eat it by then. But this year I’m going to go from shabby chic, to absolutely elegant cakes – I invested in some really nice piping nozzles and I’ve been experimenting with them and techniques but only with cupcakes to date. I think a January 2012 layer cake is called for.
  5. Buy handmade and second hand – it feels good and you get something unique. Why wouldn’t you? – Done! Although I feel I could expand this even more. I am desperate to go so some furniture auctions. Maybe in the coming year?
  6. Revamp the Kitchen – 1970’s ‘tastic. Need I say more? – Done! And even better than a revamp, we got a whole new kitchen (squeel!) I LOVE it. It isn’t finished yet, we still need a new floor finish, shelving, new blinds, and the whole place needs to be painted but the kitchen is all in!
  7. Learn to use my sewing machine – We have a love/hate relationship, in that I would love to be able to use it, but it simply hates me and refuses to do anything I want it to do – Getting there. We have been having regular-ish meetings and I think we are coming to some kind of mutual understanding. A sort of stand off. But I have a few big projects planned for 2012, maybe we can learn to love each other?
  8. Exercise – I just get so bored. Anyone have any ideas on what I could do as entertaining exercise? – I want to say done. But I don’t think something like this is even done. And actually since I passed my driving test I’m very worried I’m not getting enough fresh air. So plenty more walks in 2012 fingers crossed.
  9. Give more gifts – for no special reason. Handmade ones of course – Done! Special care packages for friends and lots of gifted cake
  10. Do more for charity – I participated in the Innocent Smoothie Big Knit this year and it felt great. I spent the month of December rooting though Sainsbury’s stash of smoothies looking for my creations – Well I’ve done my best. I don’t have much cash but I have been trying to donate a small amount and we had a big clear out of the flat and everything worth anything went to charity. I try, but I’m not sure if its ever enough.
  11. Make stamps – they are just adorable. Perfect for perking up cards and tags and they cost only pennies – I still can’t find easy cut lino. I think I may have to resort to the internet.

and then 2 carry overs from 2010

Argh! That’s alot. Here’s wishing for a successful 2011 for all of us.

13 Responses to “Project 2011”


  1. 1 Suddenexpression January 9, 2011 at 7:33 am

    Suggestions so you don’t get bored working out? I have games, and lots of them. About 3 of 4 games for the Wii and 4 different excersise videos I like. I do something different everyday. I don’t get bored that way. We also just got the Kinect for the Xbox 360, some great games there!

    • 2 Emma January 9, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      Yeah, I think I may have to go down the Kinect route. You like it? I’ve been there and done that with the Wii (I’m sick of it scolding me for not turning on more :P) Otherwise I think I might go old school and join a gym. But that’s far too much like REAL exercise!

  2. 3 Meagan January 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    We have so much in common! I dont have a job right now but I’d like to get paid. I knit but can’t crochet. I love baking but can’t decorate because I just want to eat it (and I”m not that good at the decorating part) I love buying handmade and second-made but don’t do it often enough and my mom gave me a sewing machine for Christmas a year ago and I gave up on it quickly but would love to use it. Crazy – I’m so glad I found your blog through Ravelry!

    • 4 Emma January 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      Hee Hee, that’s awesome! It’s so nice to know I’m not alone. Things I tell myself to feel better – we don’t have real jobs because crafting is so awesome that if we had jobs we could not partake in the fun, knitting is so much more amazing than crochet therefore we don’t need to learn how to crochet, our baking is obviously worthy of a michelin star that is why no one can resist the urge to eat our creations straight away, and well the sewing machine. I don’t have anything for that one. But I’ll get back to you. 😀

      Thanks for taking the time to drop by and comment!
      Emma

    • 5 Emma January 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      P.S. I’m almost pee-ing my pants waiting for Blue Valentine to be released here (still a week to wait 😦 )

  3. 6 Meagan January 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Oh yeah, yesterday I played all the best dance music and danced my butt off for 45 minutes by myself. Seriously, the best exercise ever!


  1. 1 Did I Wake You? « Trackback on January 21, 2011 at 11:18 am
  2. 2 Shop Update « Trackback on January 27, 2011 at 7:15 am
  3. 3 A Weekend Surprise « Trackback on March 25, 2011 at 8:41 am
  4. 4 Martha « Trackback on May 2, 2011 at 5:29 am
  5. 5 My Birthday Wishlist « Trackback on July 8, 2011 at 5:29 am
  6. 6 I’d Rather Be Baking « Trackback on October 6, 2011 at 5:20 am
  7. 7 Little Triumphs « Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


