Irish Apple Pie (Gone Awry)

You know when this massive craving comes over you, and you must do everything in your power to appease it? Well that is exactly what happened this weekend. I was feeling homesick and wanted some apple tart. Problem is – I have never cook one before.

So off I set on trying to find direction and how best to go about all this when I found this free recipe for Irish Apple Tart. I’m Irish and I want Apple Tart. Perfect I though. Then althought the recipe called for cooking apples I only had a sad mixture of eating apples in the fruit bowl of the flat, but I though – what the hey. They should do the job, I’ll just omit the the sugar that you’re supposed to use to sweeten the cooking apples.

OK, so turns out normal eating apples should not be substituted for cooking apples. Totally different when cooked. Most importantly eating apples stay intact when cooked. There was none of that lovely appley mush you get with cooking apples and everyone know texture in baking is key. Secondly, I sprinkled the top with brown sugar – bad move. Caster only from now on. The brown sugar gave the top a burnt like appearance even tough it was cooked just right. God-darn-it. Something this just don’t go as you had planned. So after all the effort of making it (about three hours with all the baking and brushing and so on), I was left hungry and dissappointed. Humph, that’s baking life I guess!

1 Response to “Irish Apple Pie (Gone Awry)”


  1. 1 bluemixer May 4, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    I’ve had an apple pie gone awry… very sad stuff. 😛


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


