The Big Cake Debate

My yearly dilemma has begun – what type of cake do I bake for my birthday? (yes, I bake my own birthday cake. I used to be sore about it but I’ve come to terms with it now. In fact, I love planning MY perfect cake, rather then what other people want). Last year, you’ll remember I baked a delicious creation of Sophie Dahl. And it was gorgeous, and just what I like in a birthday cake. Something rich with buttercream but light with fruity flavours (no chocolate cake for me thanks).  How gorgeous is the cake above? I love the idea of draping bunting around it. If you’ve been following me on Pinterest, you’ll see that I’ve been pinning a heck of a lot of yummy looking cakes in anticipation. But which to choose? I only have on cake to bake. How do I choose just one? Do I go with cake, cupcake or even roulade? Vanilla, Blueberry, Coffee or Caramel? As quandaries go, this is definitely the nice kind. I’m salivating at the thought of all these. Hmm. I’d better go get my pen and paper and start a pro/con list…

2 Responses to “The Big Cake Debate”


  1. 1 livingdelilah July 12, 2011 at 1:53 am

    Is it wrong that what I love most about the pictured cake is the cute stand and polka dotted table cloth? 🙂


  1. 1 A Recap « Trackback on July 20, 2011 at 5:38 am

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


