Learning to Love my Sewing Machine

My my, it certainly has been a few days since my last post. I got all caught up in the post birthday celebrating and caught up on all the work I have been trying to hard to put off doing. I let myself away with far too much around my birthday. Anyway it’s back to real life now and back to trying to complete my Project 2011. I have a whole drawer full of fabric scraps and fat quarters and all sorts of lovely pieces of fabric and following my investment in Martha’s Sewing Encyclopedia, I decided it was time to dust off my lonely sewing machine and burn some midnight oil in order to make one of the simplest things I could find – napkins.

After picking some suitably summery looking fabric I was off! I made 6 and make them slightly smaller than Martha recommends (17-inches overall prior to sewing). I think this still makes a nice generous sized napkin and it means you can easily get 6 our of a meter of fabric.

And, after minimal cursing and swearing they are complete! Hooray. Now I just need to find more excuses to use them, they will be just perfect for afternoon tea and serving up fat slices of yummy cake. I can’t wait.

0 Responses to “Learning to Love my Sewing Machine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


