Baby Knits

Well I promised it and here it is – my knitting project that I undertook during my month (which actually turned out to be much more than a month) without baking. I just needed something little to start me back into the knitting season (does anyone knit through Summer really?), and luckily all my friends seem to be having babies. It is definitely baby season in this part of the world! And it is always nice to give a little gift but as I am both cash and time poor, it has to be a very small gift. Luckily these booties fit the bill. They only use ends of other balls of wool and take only a night to whip up (minus the making up. Bah! I HATE making up). So to add to the rush of babies here, no one seems to be finding out the sex. So I am left with the dilemma of what non-gender specific colors I should knit up. No pinks or blues here. But I think the green actually worked out rather well. They are quite cute, if I do say so myself.

If you fancy giving them ago, you can get the pattern for free (yippee). It’s the Baby Bootie Pattern by Saartje Knits. There are plenty of step by step photos to help you if you’re feeling nervous about taking them on. I’d say give them a go. I think I may even knit up a few pairs in preparations for what is only going to be more and more babies (oh, am I getting that old…?)

2 Responses to “Baby Knits”


  1. 1 Kristi W. January 25, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    So I am trying to knit these booties (which are adorable by the way 🙂 ) and I’m to the point of the straps. I’m confused on the CO 12 using longtail cast and a Second strand of CC as the thumb strand. I understand the longtail cast, but not the second strand and how to hold it as the thumb strand. Any advice? Thanks so much!

    • 2 Emma January 26, 2012 at 6:31 am

      Yeah, that confused me too. I just winged it and cast on 12 trying to keep them as tight to the main bootie as possible and it worked out fine. I’d say give it a try because the great thing about knitting is that you can alway rip back! 🙂


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


