My Christmas Gift Knitting

Well now that Chritmas is all done and all the presents are unwrapped I can finally show you exactly what I was frantically doing in the run up to the big day. Continuing on my tradition of a crafted christmas and trying to keep the occasion as stress free as possible (ha! that never works out!), I only undertook two knitted projects to gift this season. One for a little baby, my neice, and the other was a small gift for another family member. Both patterns were very simple (I was really trying to keep to this stress free notion), and didn’t use a great deal of wool.The first gift was this lovely sandinavian cardi – Plain Vest by Pickles. What convinced me to make this cardigan is the cuteness of the toddler modeling it. She reminds me a little of myself when I was the same age. Especially her little ponytail. I’m am also a big fan of Pickles. I love their patterns (they give loads away as freebies and sell some too) and their unusual yarns in the most beautiful shades. If you don’t know them check them out. This pattern is actually free for the 1 year old size. And is is so simple. You knit it in one piece, knitting with two skeins at the same time, and it would be great for beginners. I loosened the neck a little more than the pattern said too but other than that I keep to the pattern. If I were to knit it again, I might move the buttons closer together. But all in all, I can’t wait to see it modeled on its recipient. And the second knit was one of my patterns (available free here) – a slouchy hat knit with the nicest chunky grey yarn (I was sorely tempted to keep this for myself). This hat knits up in no time at all and only used just over one 100g ball but I completely left it to the last minute. 30 minutes before I left for the airport I was still tying in loose ends. Next year, I promise to get my Christmas knitting sorted by October (what are the chances?)

I hope my creations have gone to a good home and are going to be loved and looked after. Maybe in 2012 I’ll knit something for myself? Hmm. I’m off to indulge in one too many mince pies and a enough wine to make my cheeks rosy. Throw in a new knitting project and I would be in heaven. Happy Christmas everyone!

0 Responses to “My Christmas Gift Knitting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


