Mocha Cupcakes

The other day I was rooting through my baking cupboards and my cookbooks to try and find a recipe the contained the ingredients from my very limited larder. I love going out with a shopping list for all the different aspects of the next spectacular cake I’m dreaming of but there are an awful lot of days when I just feel the urge to bake without leaving the cosy confines of the apartment. So, while flicking through my recipe stash I came accross Nigella Lawson‘s ‘Espresso Cupcakes’ (from ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess.’ You can get a adaptation of the recipe from Cate’s World Kitchen here). I love coffee, and I love chocolate. Perfect. So I set off.

They were, as any cupcake recipe is, so simple to make. I opted out of Nigella’s suggested icing as I had a taste for some nice coffee buttercream (unfortunately I added a little too much coffee and the butter and liquid separated. darn, noted for next time). But overall they were delicious. They even appealed to the ‘non-coffee drinking but chocolate loving’ boy. Success. So with this, it is back to baking my way through 2012.

3 Responses to “Mocha Cupcakes”


  1. 1 sapphy03 January 15, 2012 at 11:52 am

    I just ended my diet, seems like a great time to try these out

    Kitchen Mixer Reviews

  2. 2 annaspears January 15, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    What could possibly be better than chocolate and coffee together in a cupcake? I think just looking at the pictures made my stomach growl. Coffee is a morning thing, so these can be breakfast, right?!


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


