A Baking Ambition

I am still so enthusiastic about baking since watching the Great British Bake Off and all the amazing challenges and everything I still had to learn about. At the time I wanted so badly to join in at home but it was just too much to do every week on top of daily life. So, instead, this year as part of Project 2012 I’m preparing my own top wish list of baked goods.

  1. Eclairs – I will conquer choux pastry.
  2. Swiss Roll/Roulade – These are definitely a skill and make so impressive easy bakes (I hope) – Chocolate Roulade
  3. Creme Brulee – Bliss. I may get very fat working my way through this list
  4. Tart au Citron – In the Summer this is just the best dessert. Take your chocolate stuffed cakes and puddings, I will choose this every time
  5. Lemon/Lime Meringue Pie – I LOVE these. I first fell in love with them living in the States (they are big there, and not so here) but I haven’t managed to have one since coming home. Boo.
  6. Scones – Don’t get me wrong, I have made many a batch of scones but none ever have that lovely lightness of cafe bought ones. Where am I going wrong?
  7. Shortbread – Well I do live in Scotland.
  8. Cake decorations (chocolate swirls, sugar baskets and things) – In order to step up my cakes and cupcakes.
  9. Traditional Christmas Cake – Make in October and feed it with booze ’til Christmas and then cover in marzipan and royal icing. A mammoth job but I’m willing.
  10. Tortillas – I’ve never had anything but shop bought tortillas. I imagine fresh they are just awesome. They can’t be that hard, right?

Wish me luck. And don’t worry, I’ll tell you all about it!

4 Responses to “A Baking Ambition”


  1. 1 Gilraen January 29, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Good thinking and good luck.
    We mastered the creme brulee and the tarte citron last year. We managed to serve both at christmas dinners and that in itself was was totally worth it.
    I’ll join you on the tortilla and scones for 2012.

  2. 2 chocominicups January 29, 2012 at 10:07 am

    wow! I have a Baking Ambition too! Keep up the good work!


  1. 1 Chocolate Roulade « Trackback on February 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


