Chocolate Roulade

Well here begins the baking for my Baking 2012. Eep! I’m excited. I have a top ten list of my dream bakes to learn how to do this year. And here I’m starting off with roulade. It’s awesome. Did you know you basically only need eggs and sugar? Perfect for when you’re out of butter (that’s me all the time), so in facts it is a perfect store cupboard bake. I started off with Mary Berry’s Ultimate Chocolate Roulade. What better way than to start with a recipe from the queen of baking right?

It was such a simple recipe and everything went absolutely swimmingly except until I went to roll up my roulade. It totally stuck to the baking parchment. Groan! Oh well, I just used the baker’s cover up – icing sugar. Also I developed my own filling. Instead of using the orange zest in the recipe, I added a splash of toffee vodka to the whipped cream filling. And yum! Chocolate, toffee, boozy loveliness.

But I don’t think this is roulades ticked off my list just yet. I’m going to solve this sticking problem with the next one fingers crossed.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Roulade”


  1. 1 Conor Bofin February 25, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Why does it always seem to break on the rolling? Even when it does, it is an epic cake.
    Lovely post,
    Conor

  2. 2 anonymousgurl March 19, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Reblogged this on Teenage dreamz and commented:
    Yummy….!!!!


Leave a Reply

About Knit1Slip1

Knit1Slip1 is the creation of Emma and documents all kinds of crafting and arty adventures. From knitting and sewing to DIY and design. Anything that strikes Emma's fancy really. Stay and have a look around. Enjoy free tutorials and browse through past adventures

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers


